Take a Look: Asteroid Flyby of Earth

December 10th, 2012

Close fly-by of asteroid Toutatis this week!

Potentially hazardous asteroid Toutatis, an asteroid with an estimated diameter of over 3 miles (5.4 km), will make its close approach to Earth this week.

Slooh Space Camera will cover its near-approach on Tuesday, December 11th, with several live shows on, free to the public, starting at 12 p.m. PST / 3 p.m. EST / 20:00 UTC (international times here:

Slooh president Patrick Paolucci and Astronomy magazine columnist Bob Berman will provide real-time discussion of the event.

Viewers can watch live on their PC or iOS/Android mobile device.

“We will be tracking asteroid Toutatis live from two observatory locations — Canary Islands, off the coast of Africa, and Arizona,” says Paolucci in a newly issued press statement.

On December 11th/12th, asteroid Toutatis will be a comfortable but still concerning 0.04 AU away from Earth – or about 18 lunar distances.

Go to:

By Leonard David

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.